Skip to main content

Return to Previous Page

COVID-19 Fund to Retain Clinical Scientists

Awarded: Oct 15, 2021

$12.1 million over 2 years

In 2021, the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation (DDCF) in concert with the American Heart Association, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, the John Templeton Foundation, the Rita Allen Foundation and the Walder Foundation announced the 22 medical schools receiving $12.1 million in grants through the COVID-19 Fund to Retain Clinical Scientists.

Building on promising outcomes of a similar program launched by DDCF in 2015, $500,000 grants are awarded to each medical school to deploy supportive programs that provide eligible faculty who are experiencing periods of caregiving crisis supplemental support for their research, such as hiring administrative personnel, statisticians and technicians, among other uses.

Boston University School of Medicine
Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons
Duke University
Emory University
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Indiana University School of Medicine
Michigan Medicine – University of Michigan
Northwestern University
The Ohio State University
Stanford University School of Medicine
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of Arizona
University of California, Davis, School of Medicine
University of Chicago
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of Pennsylvania / Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
University of Pittsburgh
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
University of Utah Health
Vanderbilt University Medical Center / Meharry Medical College
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Yale University