Skip to main content

Return to Previous Page

2015 Clinical Research Mentorship Grantees

Awarded: Jun 01, 2015

$64,800 over 1 year

In 2015, 11 teams of DDCF-funded investigators and medical students with an interest in becoming future clinician investigators received $64,800 each for one-year research projects. 

2015 Clinical Research Mentorship Grantees 

Modeling Challenges and Interventions for Elimination of Schistosomiasis and Soil-Transmitted Helminths
Institution: Stanford University School of Medicine
Research team: Eran Bendavid, M.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award 2014 
Nathan Lo, Stanford University School of Medicine 

Inhaled Corticosteroid Use to Prevent Acute Chest Syndrome Recurrence in Children between One and Four with Sickle Cell Disease: A Multi Institutional Trial 
Institution: Vanderbilt University
Research team: Michael DeBaun M.D., M.P.H., Clinical Scientist Development Award 1999 
Zalaya Ivy, Meharry Medical College

Estimating the Impact of Indoor Residual Spraying of Insecticide Using a Novel Health Facility-Based Malaria Surveillance Program in Uganda
Institution: University of California, San Francisco
Research team: Grant Dorsey, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award 2006 
Saned Raouf, University of Colorado School of Medicine 

The Microbiome in Breast Carcinogenesis
Institution: Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Research team: Charis Eng, M.D., PhD., Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award, 2002 
Hannah Wang, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

Serum Biomarkers to Predict the Development of Steroid Resistant GVHD
Institution: Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 
Research team: James Ferrara, M.D., Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award 2002 
Matthew Hartwell, University of Michigan Medical School

Iron Deficiency in Sickle Cell Anemia 
Institution: Indiana University 
Research team: Chandy John, M.D., M.S., Innovations in Clinical Research Award 2013 
Aubri Carman, University of Arizona College of Medicine  

Identifying Maternal Immune Correlates of Protection against Perinatal Mother-to-Child Transmission (MTCT) in a Cohort of Clade C HIV Infected Women who Received ARV Prophylaxis at the Time of Delivery
Institution: Duke University
Research team: Sallie Permar, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award 2010 
Charmaine Mutucumarana, Duke University School of Medicine       

Insights into the Pathophysiology of Aortic Sclerosis and its Progression to Aortic Stenosis 
Institution: University of Pennsylvania
Research team: Daniel Rader, M.D., Distinguished Clinical Scientist 2002 
Aeron Small, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine                        

Practices Associated with the Ability to Rescue following Delayed Graft Function in Kidney Transplant Recipients 
Johns Hopkins University
Research team: Dorry Segev, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award 2008 
Shannon Cramm, University of Michigan Medical School                        

Live Donor Kidney Transplants: Capturing All-Sources Costs and Utilization 
Institution: Johns Hopkins University
Research team: Dorry Segev, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award 2008 
Joseph Leanza, Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Impact of HIV-Associated Changes in the Gut Microbiome on Disease Progression
Institution: Massachusetts General Hospital 
Research team: Bruce Walker, M.D., Distinguished Clinical Scientist 1999
Jesus Luevano Jr., Harvard Medical School