Skip to main content

Return to Previous Page

2013 Clinical Research Mentorship Grantees

Awarded: Jun 01, 2013

$64,800 over one year

In 2013, ten teams of DDCF-funded investigators and medical students with an interest in becoming future clinician investigators received $64,800 each for one-year research projects. 


Keith A. Choate, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award (2011)
Yale University
Mentee:  Jonathan Levinsohn, Yale School of Medicine
Project:   Genetics and Pathobiology of Mosaic Skin Disorders

Benjamin H. Chi, M.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award (2007)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mentee: Bryan Carter, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Project: Validation of a Community Survey Methodology for Measuring PMTCT Impact

Pradipta Ghosh, M.D., M.B.B.S., Clinical Scientist Development Award (2010)
University of California, San Diego 
Mentee: Gary Ma, University of California, San Diego School of Medicine
Project: Molecular Rheostats in Type II Diabetes - Novel Therapeutic Targets for Insulin Resistance

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, M.D., Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award (2000) 
University of Chicago 
Mentee: Liese Pruitt, Pritzker School of Medicine, University of Chicago
Project: Understanding Social and System Delays That Lead to Late Diagnosis of Breast Cancer in Southwestern Nigeria

Sallie R. Permar, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Scientist Development Award (2010)
Duke University
Mentee: Robin Mansour, Duke University School of Medicine
Project: Mapping the Antiviral Activity of a Novel HIV-Inhibitor Isolated from Breast Milk

Daniel J. Rader, M.D.Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award (2004) 
University of Pennsylvania
Mentee: Daniel Larach, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania 
Project: Deep Phenotyping of Patients with Novel Genetic Variants Associated With Unusual Lipid Levels

Philip J. Rosenthal, M.D., Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award (2004) 
University of California, San Francisco
Mentee: Jennifer Hsu, Mayo Medical School
Project: Etiology of Non-Malarial Febrile Illnesses in Ugandan Children

David A. Scheinberg, M.D., Ph.D., Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award (1999)
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Mentee: James Han, Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Project: Regulation of WT1 Peptide/ MHC Epitopes on Cancer Cells

Dorry L. Segev, M.D.Clinical Scientist Development Award (2008) 
Johns Hopkins University
Mentee: Natasha Gupta, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Project: Geriatric-Specific Risk Assessment in Older Adults Undergoing Kidney Transplantation

Xu Yu, M.D., M.Sc., Clinical Scientist Development Award (2006) 
Massachusetts General Hospital
Mentee: Patrick Burke, Tufts University School of Medicine
Project: Analysis of the Genetic Interplay between LILR/HLA Class I on Dendritic Cell Function