Skip to main content

Return to Previous Page

2009 Clinical Scientist Development Awards

Awarded: Jan 01, 2009

$5,670,000 over 3 years

In 2009, 14 junior physician-scientists each received three-year grants of $405,000 to support their transition from mentored to independent clinical research careers.

2009 CSDA Grantees

Benjamin S. Abella, MD MPhil
University of Pennsylvania
Project: "Quality of Cardiac Arrest Resuscitation Care and Effects on Post-Reperfusion Pathophysiology"

Christopher M. Adams, MD, PhD
University of Iowa
Project: "Molecular Biology of Skeletal Muscle Atrophy"

Timothy A. Chan, MD, PhD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Project: "Analysis of the Phosphatase PTPRD, a Widely Inactivated Tumor Suppressor in Glioma"

Kavita M. Dhodapkar, MBBS
Yale University
Project: "Regulation of Fc Gamma Receptors in Immune Thrombocytopenic Purpura"

Kevin C. Ess, MD, PhD
Vanderbilt University
Project: "Neurogenesis in Tuberous Sclerosis Complex"

Rasheed A. Gbadegesin, MD
Duke University
Project: "A New Locus for Familial FSGS & GWAS Study of Childhood Nephrotic Syndrome"

Marc K. Halushka, MD, PhD
Johns Hopkins University
Project: "Advanced Glycation End Products Induce Endothelial Mesenchymal Transform"

Hanlee Ji, MD
Stanford University School of Medicine
Project: "Prognostic Genetics of Chromosome Arm 18q Aberrations in Colorectal Cancer"

Mathias D. Lichterfeld, MD, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Harvard School of Medicine
Project: "Stem Cell Characteristics of HIV-1-specific T Cells"

Robert McCullumsmith, MD, PhD
University of Alabama
Project: "Abnormalities of Glutamate Transporter Localization in Schizophrenia"

Michael J. Minzenberg, MD
University of California, Davis
Project: "Neuroimaging of Locus Coeruleus Modulation for Cognitive Disability in Schizophrenia"

Adam J. Ratner, MD, MPH
Columbia University
Project: "Novel Approaches to Bacterial Vaginosis: Diagnostics and Risk Factors"

Olaf Stuve, MD, PhD
University of Texas Southwestern
Project: "Determining cellular Immune Responses against Aquaporin 4 in Patients with Neuromyelitis Optica"